TERMS & CONDITIONS
Previous experience is not required for most classes. Unless otherwise noted, students may enroll in the selected class without submitting a portfolio. Students may request guidance in the selection of courses by contacting the School Office or advisor.
New York Institute of Fine Arts is not an accredited institution and therefore does not offer degree credit for its classes. However, classes taken at the Institute may be accepted for credit by other institutions. Students should contact their receiving institutions to determine whether they can receive credit for classes completed at the Institute.
STUDENT ID CARDS
Student ID cards are available for incoming students and are renewed once a year. First card is $10. Each additional card is $15.
A monitor is chosen by the instructor to assist the instruction and oversee the class when the instructor is not present. In addition to the duties specific to each class, it is required that monitors take attendance and ensure that all students in attendance are registered.
Students must provide their own materials. Each instructor provides a list of suggested materials for each course. All class materials lists can be requested to our advising office. The Institute is not responsible for lost or stolen materials.
LOST AND FOUND
Any articles found in the School are turned into the security desk where they can be retrieved.
COMPUTERS & PRINTERS
The computers and printer in the New Media Room are available for use by students when not in use by media classes. Equipment can be signed out at student services office and in the advising school office with a valid photo ID.
LOCKERS & STORAGE
Each locker is $20.00 per month. The Institute provides open racks for the storage of paintings and large works. All students are responsible for securing their lockers. The School is not liable for articles missing from lockers or racks. In order to rent a locker at New York Institute of Fine Arts, you must be enrolled in a class for the quarter in which the rental applies. Your reservation will stand until the last day of the quarter, not the last day of the month. All students must have a lock to place on the lock at the time of rental and immediately before reporting to the student services office to reserve rental. If a student intends to reserve the same locker for consecutive quarters, the student must update their locker registration before the last day of the quarter. To rent a locker that has been reserved for students with physical restrictions, students must provide documentation from a physician to the student services office. No lockers can be rented for the month of August and all lockers must be cleared by the last day of Summer Session.
Tuition is payable by credit card, check, cash or money order. Returned checks will incur a $35 fee. New students are required to pay a one-time nonrefundable $140 registration fee. Registration is not transferable to a second party. Students who register for both sessions receive a discounted rate that is reflected in the prices listed. No pro-rating is permitted. Classes may be canceled at any time if minimum registration requirements are not met.
To receive a 100% refund, students must send a request in writing 15 days prior to the start date of the class. Send an email to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Refunds are made in the same form as payment.
The refund will be paid within forty-five (45) calendar days from the documented date of determination.
Students requesting a refund prior to the second class will receive a 75% refund applied to school credit only.
No refunds will be made after the second class, unless there is a documented medical excuse.
There is a $25.00 administrative fee for each refund.
No refunds will be issued due to weather-related closings.
To request a transfer, students must send an email to email@example.com
All transfers must occur before the second class.
Transfers from one class into another may incur additional fees depending on the transfer.
Transfers from one workshop into another are not permitted.
There is a $15.00 administrative fee for each transfer.
There is no fee for full-time Studio Art Intensive and Certificate students up until two weeks after the start date. After that, a $15.00 administrative fee will be incurred.
The Institute reserves the right to dismiss any student at its discretion for behavior that is disruptive to the community and learning environment. If a problem arises, students, faculty, and staff should alert the student services office immediately. All reports are kept confidential.
The Institute reserves the right to amend the catalogue. The school catalogue was developed based on information available at press time. Any changes or additions will be announced or published in different manner.
ADD/DROP PERIOD FOR STUDENTS ENROLLED IN A FULL-TIME PROGRAM
Full-time students must finalize their schedules by the close of business on the second Sunday of the session. A student cannot enroll, drop, or transfer into a class after that day without a formal request. After that, requests for course changes must be made to the student services office. The circumstances of each request will be considered; however, not all requests will be granted.